How do I Copy Content from One Moodle Course to Another?

Copying course content in Moodle is quick and easy. If you’re a Blackboard user, the terminology is a bit different with Moodle. To copy content from one course to another, you will need to create a backup of the course that has the desired content - the source course. The backup is essentially a .zip file of the course content.

Part One: Backing up the course content:

  1. Go to the Moodle site with the course that has the content you wish to copy.
  2. Go to Admin block, click on Backup.
  3. If you are using the Course Menu block, click on Control Panel, Backup and Copy Content tab, Backup.
  4. Use the check boxes beside the list of resources/activities you wish to include in the backup. Use the ALL/NONE links at the top for a mass  selection. Select User Data NONE to copy only the content with out the student information.
  5. On the same page, Metacourse: Yes; Users: NONE (to exclude the current enrollment) User Files No; Course Files YES.
  6. Click Continue three times.
  7. At the files backup files area, right click on your name of the backup zip file you just created and save it to your computer.

To copy into another course/shell, you will restore it into the course you want to the content copied into - the destination course.

  • You can copy from master to shell or shell to master or shell to shell.
  • Links to the various Moodle semesters are located in CAW.
  • You will want to be careful that you don’t copy old user information into a new course shell. However, if you make a mistake, it can usually be fixed.

Part Two: Restoring into the destination course

  1. Go to Moodle site with the destination course.
    If it is a new shell, you will need to turn editing on and add the Administration block.
  2. Go to the settings option and modify the number of weeks/topics to match your course. If you don't do this, the new course will only restore up to the default number of topics/weeks (10).
  3. In the Administration block, click the Restore option. In Restore, click Upload file. Browse to find the zipped backup file saved to your computer in part 1.
  4. Upload file and hit the Restore button to the right of the file name.
  5. You will be asked if you want to restore the course, click ok.
  6. You will be prompted to continue. Choose to Continue.
  7. At the third prompt, choose the option to “restore to existing course deleting it first” This will copy over information and/or images in the summary block headers. Otherwise, they will not be included. This will also overright any information in the destination course; therefore, you will want to check the Administration block/Instructors and add yourself back if you are not listed
  8. .Finally, modify any settings in the destination course. Check to make sure you are still enrolled as the instructor before exiting.

 

** Note that if you are copying content into a semester shell, deleting it first, and students have already been loaded into the shells, you will lose the students until the next enrollment update - early am of the next day.

If you have questions or need additional assistance, please call Instructional Development @704.330.6111 or email IDEV@cpcc.edu